Magnews offers tools to manage unsubscribed contacts’ data in a customized way, allowing you to either delete such data or retain it, even in anonymised form.
Consent withdrawal
When a contact gives or withdraws consent to the processing of their data, that preference can be saved in a specific database field.
This field is called Denies consent to tracking (ID:NOTRACK):
Important
The value of the Denies consent to tracking field is linked to the preferences configured in Profile Studio > Database management > Settings > Edit > Privacy > Contact tracking, as described in the article How to configure contact tracking:
If the value of the Denies consent to tracking field equals Yes, on this page you can choose between:
-
Do not record events
- no data related to the individual contact will be tracked, neither for profiling purposes nor as aggregated data for reports or statistics.
-
Record the events without making them visible to the user
- contact data will be used only for aggregated reports, from which it will not be possible to trace back to the contact’s information.
To change the value of the Denies consent to tracking field for multiple contacts in bulk, go to the database contact list and apply any filters.
From the Actions menu for contacts, choose Update field:
Select the Denies consent to tracking field and the Yes value; click Start activity to run the action:
The following screen confirms the outcome of the task:
In each contact record, the Do not track field in the Preferences section of the Settings tab will show the value Yes:
Data anonymisation
In the privacy settings you can also define how to manage a contact’s data when they unsubscribe.
For each database field, magnews allows you to enable - in the edit section of the field itself - the option Anonymise data at the time of unsubscription:
This option enables you to define how to retain contact data in the related database.
In the Managing the data of unsubscribed contacts section in the Settings of Profile Studio, you can choose one of the following three options:
-
Anonymise upon user request
a manual action by the Magnews user is required to anonymise contacts, by opening the unsubscribed contact’s record, performing bulk edits, or using the import tools -
Automatically anonymise on unsubscription
the contact’s data is anonymised automatically at the time of the unsubscribe -
Keep the data visible
the data of the unsubscribed contact is kept visible in the database, without giving the Magnews user the option to anonymise it
Anonymise on user request
To proceed with anonymisation, go to the list of unsubscribed contacts and select those for which you want to perform this operation.
From the Actions menu for contacts, choose Anonymise data:
Click Start activity to run the action:
The following screen confirms the outcome of the task:
Automatically anonymise un unsubscription
In the case of automatic anonymisation, magnews will anonymise the fields that have the Anonymise data on unsubscription option enabled.
Note: once the anonymisation operation is completed - either on user request or automatically - it will no longer be possible to view the data for the anonymised fields: